Duke Cancer Institute Blog http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/ en DCI at ASCO: A Preview (May 29-31) http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/dci-asco-preview-may-29-31 Duke Cancer Institute will present more than 100 abstracts across multiple cancer types during the ASCO20 Virtual Scientific Program of the 2020 ASCO Annual Meeting. Fri, 22 May 2020 21:27:03 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 174344 DCI Patient Forum (5.19.20) http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/dci-patient-forum-51920 Join Duke Cancer Institute for a virtual event to learn about COVID-19 and what it means for our cancer patients and community. Fri, 15 May 2020 14:56:35 -0400 172830 Spiritos, Kheterpal, Wahidi, Bashir, Among DIHI Grantees http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/spiritos-kheterpal-wahidi-bashir-among-dihi-grantees Duke Cancer Institute's Michael Spiritos, MD, Meenal Kheterpal, MD, Momen Wahidi, MD, MBA, and Mustafa Bashir, MD, awarded 2020 DIHI Innovation Project Grants. Tue, 12 May 2020 20:57:06 -0400 172069 Train for the V-Ride This Weekend (5.16.20) http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/train-v-ride-weekend-51620 Join Dr. Kastan and Team DCI for a virtual training Victory Ride, May 16. Choose a V-Ride route or your own path on a cycle or stationary bike. Mon, 11 May 2020 16:52:37 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 171795 Nurse Spotlight: Passion & Progress in the Fight Against Cancer http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/nurse-spotlight-passion-progress-fight-against-cancer During National Nurses Week, the American Cancer Society spotlights DCI nurse and longtime ACS volunteer Ellen Parks, RN, OCN, CBCN (left). Fri, 08 May 2020 10:47:20 -0400 American Cancer Society 170757 For Patients: Financial Assistance from LLS http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/patients-financial-assistance-lls The LLS COVID-19 Patient Financial Aid Program will provide $250 to eligible blood cancer patients experiencing financial hardship due to the pandemic. Thu, 07 May 2020 09:43:18 -0400 170497 EVENT: Coping with Lung Cancer and COVID-19 (5.21.20) http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/coping-lung-cancer-and-covid-19-52120 Duke Cancer Institute thoracic oncologist Neal Ready, MD, PhD joins Rev. Adrian Dixon and a lung cancer survivor to share best practices during COVID-19. Wed, 06 May 2020 18:09:55 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 170496 For Patients: Financial Aid Available for Lodging http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/patients-financial-aid-available-lodging Caring House will subsidize $40/night of hotel bills for DCI patients who are currently unable to stay there due to the closure. Wed, 06 May 2020 17:28:42 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 170495 DCI Faculty Awarded Distinguished Professorships http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/dci-faculty-awarded-distinguished-professorships Twelve faculty in the School of Medicine were recently awarded distinguished professorships. A third of these are DCI members. Wed, 06 May 2020 11:46:17 -0400 170494 May Newsmakers http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/may-newsmakers-5 Here's a sample of some of the DCI physicians, physician-scientists, researchers and nurses whose work is featured by the media and in academic journals. Tue, 05 May 2020 13:24:32 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 170227