Duke Cancer Institute Blog http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/blog/rss.xml en Boulware, Ubel Named To The NAM http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/boulware-ubel-named-nam <p>Ebony Boulware, M.D., and Peter Ubel, M.D., have been elected to the prestigious National Academy of Medicine (NAM).</p> Mon, 11 Nov 2019 11:10:05 -0500 Duke Health News 11163 Stomach Cancer Symposium (5.2.20) http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/stomach-cancer-symposium-5220 <p>Duke Cancer Institute and "No Stomach for Cancer" are co-hosting a symposium "Spotlight on Stomach Cancer" on May 2. This local event is free-of-charge and open to the public.</p> Fri, 08 Nov 2019 15:04:44 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 11089 McDonnell and Newgard Receive Endocrine Society Laureate Awards http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/mcdonnell-and-newgard-receive-endocrine-society-laureate-awards <p>Donald P. McDonnell, PhD, and Christopher B. Newgard, PhD, have both received 2020 Laureate Awards from the Endocrine Society.</p> <p> </p> Wed, 06 Nov 2019 22:15:48 -0500 Lindsay Key 11057 Vaping, Smoking & Other Inhalants (11.16.19) http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/vaping-smoking-other-inhalants-what-you-need-know-111619 <p>The Durham County Department of Public Health and the DCI Office of Health Equity host a public health forum on vaping, smoking, and other inhalants.</p> Sun, 03 Nov 2019 20:57:19 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 11002 Annual Passport Drive At Duke (11.21.19) http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/annual-duke-passport-drive-112119 <p>Need a passport for study or travel abroad? <span>Come to the annual Duke Passport Drive, open to faculty, staff, students, family and alumni, here on campus.</span></p> Sun, 03 Nov 2019 20:49:04 -0500 11001 New Clinical Data Strategy Manager Named http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/new-clinical-data-strategy-manager-named <p><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span>Claire Howell, MMCi, has been named <span><span><span>manager of Clinical Data Strategy </span></span></span>for the Duke Cancer Institute. She began her new role on September 9.</span></span></span></span></span></span></span></span></span></span></span></span></span></span></span></span></span></span></span></span></p> Fri, 01 Nov 2019 10:12:12 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 10952 DCI Science Retreat: Attacking Cancer On All Fronts http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/dci-scientific-retreat-attacking-cancer-all-fronts <p>Duke Cancer Institute hosted its Sixth Annual Scientific Retreat on Friday, October 25; attracting 166 DCI physicians, researchers, staff, and guests.</p> Thu, 31 Oct 2019 10:20:39 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 10951 DCI Science Retreat: Attacking Cancer On All Fronts http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/dci-scientific-retreat-attacking-cancer-all-fronts <p>Duke Cancer Institute hosted its Sixth Annual Scientific Retreat on Friday, October 25; attracting 166 DCI physicians, researchers, staff, and guests.</p> Thu, 31 Oct 2019 10:20:39 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 10947 DCI Science Retreat: Attacking Cancer On All Fronts http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/dci-scientific-retreat-attacking-cancer-all-fronts <p>Duke Cancer Institute hosted its Sixth Annual Scientific Retreat on Friday, October 25; attracting 166 DCI physicians, researchers, staff, and guests.</p> Thu, 31 Oct 2019 10:20:39 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 10950 NEW BOOK: Practical Cardio-Oncology http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/new-book-practical-cardio-oncology <p>Medical oncologist and cardio-oncology specialist Susan Dent, MD, FRCPC,is the editor of a new book Practical Cardio-Oncology (Oct. 16, 2019)</p> Wed, 30 Oct 2019 09:45:52 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 10942