Duke Cancer Institute Blog http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/ en Caring House “Stay at Home” Gala http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/caring-house-stay-home-gala The Caring House in Durham provides a home away from home for DCI outpatients and their caregivers. While the COVID-19 pandemic means a different look for the 2021 event, exciting plans are still in place. Tue, 19 Jan 2021 15:49:38 -0500 DCI Communications 239823 American Cancer Society: 2020 Saw Drop in Cancer Deaths http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/american-cancer-society-2020-saw-drop-cancer-deaths The American Cancer Society's "Facts & Figures 2021" reports another record-breaking one-year drop in cancer deaths. Sat, 16 Jan 2021 22:59:25 -0500 American Cancer Society 239114 VIRTUAL: Duke Research Week 2021 (1.25 to 1.29.21) http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/virtual-duke-research-week-2021-125-12921 Charles A. Gersbach, PhD (CRISPR technologies) and a Microsoft research industry executive (research in the cloud) are among the speakers. Thu, 14 Jan 2021 17:14:38 -0500 238640 Duke Scientists Make Cell Mentor's 1,000 Inspiring Black Scientists List http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/duke-scientists-make-cell-mentors-1000-inspiring-black-scientists-list Joab Odera, PhD, a postdoctoral researcher in DCI's Patierno/Freedman/George Lab is among 13 Duke scientists named to list of 1,000 inspiring Black scientists. Wed, 13 Jan 2021 11:15:30 -0500 Wiiliam Alexander 238405 Recurrent GBM Brain Tumors with Few Mutations Respond Best to Immunotherapy http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/recurrent-gbm-brain-tumors-few-mutations-respond-best-immunotherapy The finding from a genetic analysis of tumors treated with Duke’s poliovirus therapy suggests a predictive biomarker for survival. Wed, 13 Jan 2021 10:56:10 -0500 Sarah Avery 238404 January DCI Seminar Series (1.20.21) http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/january-dci-seminar-series-12021 The January DCI Seminar Series features Yossi Shiloh, PhD, director of the The David and Inez Myers Laboratory for Cancer Genetics at Tel Aviv University School of Medicine. Thu, 07 Jan 2021 23:17:05 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 237003 Halabi, Bitting, Receive PCF Award http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/halabi-receives-pcf-team-challenge-award-parp-registry Susan Halabi, PhD, is co-leading a project to create a large international registry of data from prostate cancer patients treated with various PARP inhibitors. Thu, 07 Jan 2021 15:21:51 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 237002 Introducing Winter 2021 Breakthroughs http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/introducing-winter-2021-breakthroughs Finding the Answers, Together Wed, 06 Jan 2021 01:14:02 -0500 Angela Spivey 236535 Duke Hosts Genomic Frontiers Conference (1.9.21) http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/duke-hosts-genomic-frontiers-conference-1921 Advance registration for the Genomic Frontiers Conference, organized by and hosted at Duke on Jan. 9, is free, inc. conference access for 2 weeks. Tue, 05 Jan 2021 17:39:14 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 236534 2021 PMWC World Conference (6.16 to 6.18.21) http://www.dukecancerinstitute.org/news/2021-pmwc-world-conference-616-61821 For Healthcare Professionals: Duke is a co-host of the annual Precision Medicine World Conference — to be held at the Santa Clara Convention Center, June 16 to 18. Tue, 05 Jan 2021 16:38:04 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 236533